Weekly Devotional: A Heart of Peace for 10 Minutes’ Time

Jesus said, “Everyone then who hears these words of mine and acts on them will be like a wise man who built his house on rock. The rain fell, the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house, but it did not fall, because it had been founded on rock.”                                   —  Matthew 7. 24 & 25

Okay, I’ll confess. I am a big fan of HGTV, and I am especially fond of Property Brothers. There is so much I like about their show. I like the brothers and how they interact with each other and the people whose homes they renovate. I also like that they don’t have one style, but that they truly listen to their clients and then develop a renovation and design plan that is creative and unique. But I think the thing I most appreciate is that whenever they begin a renovation project and discover that there is some bad thing in the walls or under the floor that is going to cost their clients more than they planed, the brothers are honest about it. They are committed to safety and good construction, and while they empathize with their clients, and try to find other ways to stay within the budget, they do not compromise on the basics that will keep the house safe over time.

As I was watching an episode of Property Brothers this week I realized that the commitment to paying attention to the unseen repairs by the brothers is much like Jesus’ teaching about those who hear his words and are like the wise man who built his house on rock. It seems to me that Jesus is trying to get us to understand that our attention to the inner workings of our spirit and soul, and our commitment to listening to God and developing relationship with God will be what sustains us over time.

This week we introduced a new column in our New Church Worship Guide entitled, “New Church Spirituality – What you can do!” The goal is to provide our faith community simple ways to “build their house on rock,” by practicing daily spirituality. This week we suggested that we spend 10 minutes in the morning or evening praying for peace. I have been practicing this prayer time this week and the wonderful outcome of sitting in silence and praying for peace is that I discovered my own heart at peace.

Of course, it does not escape me that many people in the wake of hurricanes and earthquakes have lost their homes to these natural disasters. But the thing that is so often inspiring is how resilient so many of the people are, and how often they speak of relying on their faith to get them through the storm.

So, I encourage you to try it. Set aside 10 minutes in the morning, at noon or in the evening and sit silently, listen to music, take a walk, or whatever it is you do in order to focus your mind, and pray for peace. Then when the rain falls, the floods come, and the winds blow in your life, you will not fall, because your life will be founded on rock.

Holy One, help me, strengthen my resolve so that I may faithfully spend time in prayer with you. Then let me turn to my day knowing you are ever with me. Amen.

 

Leave a comment